Fellow's login

Bangladesh College of Physicians & Surgeons

This site is under Construction (Pls.Go to www.bcpsbd.org)

Bangladesh College of Physicians and Surgeons has been the pioneer in developing post-graduate medical education in this country. Historically, the College bears a heritage to College of Physicians and Surgeons of Pakistan of which it was the eastern wing. Following the independence of Bangladesh, the College was recreated as a statutory body by a Presidential order, later on ratified by an act of the parliament, to steer postgraduate medical education of a vastly populated, poorly resourced and war ravaged country. With the grace of Almighty and under an ever-unfolding leadership of its fellows, the College has achieved the iconic status in the field of postgraduate medical education of this country. It has definitely been able to set a mark for others to cherish and chase.

The Government of the Peoples' Republic of Bangladesh constituted an adhoc committee of the College with Professor K S Haque as the President in 1972. All fellows of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Pakistan who hailed from Bangladesh were admitted as the founder fellows. With great endeavours and untiring efforts, these people were able to hold the first examination in July 1972. A memorable and mighty move was the shift of the College to its own premises at Mohakhali in January, 1982. The College owes this achievement to its the then president Prof. MA Matin..

Formation and Administration The College is constituted by its founder fellows, fellows without examination, honorary fellows and fellows admitted on passing the prescribed examination. The college council comprises of 20 councillors to Govern the College. Out of 20 councillors 16 councillors are elected by its fellows and 4 are nominated by the Government amongst the fellows.

The election of the council held every two years, after one-half of the members of the council have finished their tenure of office. Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the college held on last working day of February each year. The Council is responsible for the general direction of the general affairs of the College. The council have the following committees to help: a) Executive committee consisting of President, Senior Vice president, Vice-president, Secretary, Treasurer, and two elected members. b) Finance and Tender Committee consisting of the president, the treasurer and two members elected by the council and other members.
Read More